Volunteer puts heart into the British Heart Foundation

Posted: 15/02/2013 in Latest Ideas and Opinions
Tags: , , , , , ,

I had a few ideas for posts today but on a drive through Stratton, something caught my eye, which made up my mind in an instant. Sometimes small things make a huge difference on the days outlook.

I was on my way to get my daughters fringe cut with Terry, a very friendly hairdresser in Bude. I drove through Stratton and saw a Petit, older lady, who was struggling to walk due to a possible ailment or maybe a touch of fatigue but still soldiering on wearing the colours of the British Heart Foundation proudly. This actually made me proud of someone I had never met and made me take a long hard look at myself.

I have days where I look at my situation negatively, as I’m sure we all do. I may get up and feel a little hard done by, life is treating me badly, fate has always got a negative bombshell to throw in front of me but then you see a lady making a difference because she can, not because she has too. She got up this morning and felt that she could help a worthwhile cause. She probably doesn’t get money for this but she wouldn’t have it any other way. She made a difference for me today and I’m sure she made a difference to the charity too.

I know there are national awards and TV shows that recognise a lucky few in the volunteering field but I thought I’d bring your attention to this particular lady for briefly coming into my life today and giving me some true perspective on making a difference in this world.

If you do read this and you know it’s aimed at you, I’d like to say thank you and God bless you, for everything you do…

Lee

Leave a Reply

